Skip to content

Blue Monday: finding the silver lining

January 19, 2010

Yesterday was a really really crap day.  So many rubbish things happened that I’m suprised it took me till 11pm to realise it was all the curse of Blue Monday – quite obviously the most depressing day of the year. A short google revealed the specific features of my Blue Monday. “Blue Monday’s date is calculated by using many factors: weather conditions, debt level (the difference between debt accumulated and our ability to pay), time since Christmas, time since failing our new year’s resolutions, low motivational levels and feeling of a need to take action.” Wikipedia

Sounds awesome. So, check out this delightful list of the crap things that happened (and how they tick all the Blue Monday boxes):

1)Weather Conditions It was FOUL weather – grey, damp, cold. It was very British.

2) Low Motivational Levels: I slept in, in a bad way, and woke up at Yorkshire Boy’s house late, having had several odd dreams. I had no motivation and couldn’t get started on anything, so I did the minimal and then watched TV all day. Before remembering that I needed to do my tax return. Big mistake; (see below)

3) (Debt Level: The difference between debt accumulated and our ability to pay): Online tax return revealed that I owe the tax man a frightening amount of money (we’re talking four figures)and I don’t have ANY of it. I have to pay him by next Friday. Gulp.

4) Time since Christmas: Realised it’s been two weeks since Christmas and the year has not improved; if anything it’s getting worse. Blue Monday being a prime example.

5) Failing our New Year’s Resolutions: So stressed that at around 8pm I seriously considered breaking my booze drought resolution and necking some wine. I did however manage to stop myself. A small miracle.

6) Feeling of a need to take action: YB starting making moves to sell his share of the house he currently owns so he can take on some of the mortgage here. Of course he made those moves on Blue Monday, so he encountered a massive amount of resistance and it doesn’t look like it’ll be so easy.

All in all yesterday was a hateful day. BUT, and yes there actually is a ‘but’, I was impressed, and touched, at how well YB and I managed each other’s nervous breakdowns over the course of the day, and how well we supported each other’s bad news – with rallying cries, love and general motivational speaking. Much like when we got robbed on holiday last year, Blue Monday has reminded me that it really is the crappy things in life that bring you closer.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 19, 2010 12:00 pm

    Nice writing style. I look forward to reading more in the future.

  2. January 19, 2010 3:48 pm

    What a terrible blue monday!! We got his with 6 inches of snow here & trust me, I hear you on the taxes!! Last year I almost had to pay FIVE figures but by investing some dough & writing some crap off I got it down to four. I expect about the same this year, total bummer. At least you discovered that you and YB handeled it well 🙂

  3. January 20, 2010 5:50 pm

    you said “necking some wine”— i already like you 😉
    hope your week looks up!

  4. January 21, 2010 10:24 pm

    I hope your Thursday is going better than your Monday did!

    So sorry about your taxes…ours are coming here in April and I am not looking forward to it!

  5. January 22, 2010 9:21 am

    Thanks so much, Thurs was indeed a good day, involving much free champagne at a restaurant opening, yay!

Trackbacks

  1. Remembering what’s good, is good « Domestic Bliss

Leave a Reply

