Skip to content

Five things to be gleeful about…

February 5, 2010

It’s been one hell of a week again (the curse of Blue Monday seems not quite to have worn off), and having looked around Blogtown and I can see i’m not alone. I don’t know what it is about this time of year that seems to be so challenging but really, enough is enough.  Poor YB is having all manner of crap thrown at him this week as well, and, not suprisingly, between the two of us it’s all a bit miserable.

Everyone keeps telling me things could be a whole lot worse – but really, is that helpful? Of course it could be worse. I mean, there’s always someone whose worse off than you, but I don’t really give a rats ass about Aunty Moira’s hernia, or that Bob down the road lost his job. I just don’t. So there.

So instead of thinking about what’s worse, i’m going to valiantly try and think about what’s good….

1) Glee: I don’t care what anyone else thinks, that show is like some sort of magic, side-effect proof* drug for the miserable. They should start prescibing Glee to people, instead of Prozac. And it should be mandatory for all politicians. I feel sure there would have been no recession had this been on the agenda at Prime Minister’s Questions.

2) Holiday Plans: YB and I have planned a minor road trip of Northern France in April, we are going to Boulogne, Rouen, Limoges and lots of pretty villages on the way. Pottering along country lanes, drinking wine and eating pate, bread and cheese. Mmmm, happy place.

3) Weekend: Nuff said. There are no two more blissful words in the English language than ‘Saturday’ and ‘Sunday’.

4) Rugger: The Six Nations starts tomorrow and I shall be watching in the pub, sampling much beer, watching real men in tight shorts. Mmmm, more happy place.

5) Skiing: This one isn’t my gleeful thought for the day, it’s YBs, as he’s off skiing on Sunday for a week, which makes him happy, so therefore makes me happy, which makes the cat happy, and my mother happy – and then everyone is happy. It’s also helpful because I can keep saying: “But honey you’ve got a great holiday coming up now, a good chance to relax and destress.” Good girlfriend support there. Oh yes.

* One small side-effect of Glee may include breaking into ‘Don’t Stop Believin’ at inappropriate times – like in the bank, or on the tube. Very not good.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 5, 2010 5:05 pm

    I certainly hope you have a fantastic weekend and I love your list of happy things!

Leave a Reply

