Skip to content

The 12 things I love about living with YB…

April 13, 2010

YB and I have been cohabiting for 12 whole days now; and I. Burloody. Love. It.

I can’t believe how much I love it either. I’m sure there are temper tantrums to come yet (his not mine, I am a mistress of calm and serenity, obviously) – but it’s just so ace. Every day I feel happy, and full of energy and inspired. It’s brilliant.

I love:*

  1. Having boiled eggs for brekkie and a cuppa with him every morning before work
  2. Curling up on the sofa on Sunday night reading the paper while he watches the golf
  3. Cooking lamb curry together
  4. Watching him have his own private little conversations about nothing with Spoony, the cat – espeically when he forgets I can hear him.
  5. Waking up next to him every morning, even though he’s grumpy
  6. Nattering about his day with him while I cook dinner
  7. Going to John Lewis together to buy picture frames and then putting pics of both our families and friends in them
  8. That he can reach all the things in tall cupboards that are way above my head
  9. That the cost of everything in my life (except clothes and I’m working on that) is split by half.
  10. That he’s named our tomato plant Tommy, and treats it like his own offspring
  11. Not having plans at the weekend, and then making them over a coffee while sitting in the sunshine on our roof terrace.
  12. Saying ‘our’ about everything.

Living together is unequivocably ace.

*I don’t know if this is allowed, or if it’s dreadfully bah humbug, but I do not love that last night he came home from football and tried to make me smell his shin pads, then threw his socks in my face, and then clipped his toemails on the sofa, and kept pinging them all over the room. A whole world of yuck.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 13, 2010 11:38 am

    The Boy and I will be cohabitating starting in June. I’m kind of super excited.

    This post makes me smile!

  2. April 13, 2010 12:29 pm

    What a happy post! Good for you two. #1-12 delightful. Smelly shin pads, stinky socks, toenail clippngs – reality (yuck x 1000). Men!

  3. April 19, 2010 2:36 pm

    Ah the talking to the cat when he thinks no one’s listening! I love this, Mr B does it too.

    But I do wonder if it’s a clever double bluff on their parts to make us think they are too cute?

    !!

    So pleased that all is great and happy in the YorkEm household 🙂

    xx

  4. Emma permalink
    May 22, 2010 12:23 am

    My boyfriend also talks to my cat, and it is starting to upset me as im feeling neglected. How do you deal with YB talking to Spoony? By the way i think your blog is unpretentiously amazing!

Leave a Reply

