Skip to content

The seven things I think are wierd about you…

May 11, 2010

This living together, while being great, is also terribly revealing. Apparently I have all these wierd traits that YB has never noticed before which he now seems to comment on. All. the. time.

For instance:

1) I eat crisps really noisily, apparently. YB keeps huffing and glaring at me. Now I am so scared of being noisy that I suck crisps instead of chewing them. It’s like being 80 already and having lost all of my teeth.

2) He did an impression of me last night, gulping a glass of water while holding a hand on his stomach, and then burping. Apparently I do this every night before going to bed. I did not know this. Now I feel really self-conscious.

3) He has also noted that I wake too early at the weekends and turn the pages of my book in a ‘really annoying way.’ He can’t elaborate though on what exactly this constitutes.

4) The noise I (or anyone else, for that matter) makes when sucking their fingers – you know, like if you’ve just been eating chocolate or something and it’s all over your hands – is apparently also ‘really annoying’.

5) I don’t like to eat my dinner the second I get home from work. I like to ‘sit for a bit’, which apparently makes me irrational and wierd. Especially because YB is always ravenous.

6) It’s also apparently really strange that when we finally get round to having dinner I serve the veggies or sauce in a nice bowl rather than just dumping the entire saucepan on the table. ‘Don’t bother dirtying a bowl,’ says YB, incredulous. Riiiight, yes. I bought all this nice china to keep it permanently clean. OK then.

7) He has also noted what he  calls my ‘evil trick’ of moving over to cuddle him in bed, thus moving him further away from my side of the bed and closer to the edge of his. I don’t think this is evil, I think it’s inspired.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 11, 2010 3:17 pm

    I’m going to be honest (and hope you don’t get mad) but I think YB is being WAY too critical!! Everyone has little quirks & I’m sure he has some as well. Both my Fiance and I have weird things we do that sometimes annoy eachother but it’s also something that we love about eachother. I think you should be yourself and not be worried about “annoying” YB, he should learn to accept you as you are. Maybe you can make a list of all of his annoying quirks and give him a taste of his one medicine lol. ❤

  2. May 12, 2010 11:52 am

    Thanks Katy, but these are fairly tongue in cheek – it’s more that he’s commented on the things I didn’t realise I did, than actually complained about them….I know really that he couldn’t care less about them. Except the finger sucking one, that really drives him mad! I appreciate you looking out for me though!

  3. May 12, 2010 4:38 pm

    I’ve been told by my lovely husband that my mouth hangs open a lot a la gormless gorm.

    Oh how I wish I’d never been told and I could be blissfully ignorant. And happy.
    xx

  4. May 14, 2010 6:32 pm

    Oh good! I’m glad to hear that, when I first read it I seriously though he said all of these things to you 🙂 Have a great weekend!

  5. June 1, 2010 6:58 pm

    YB is getting a glimpse of your Secret Single Behavior!

    (See what I did there, SATC reference?) 🙂

  6. June 2, 2010 8:45 am

    Indeed, there are SO many things you discover that you didn’t know you did when someone moves in with you. It’s actually quite alarming!

Leave a Reply

