Skip to content

In which I am insane in the membrane…

May 18, 2010

My job, might pay well, but it is mental. Sometimes I think I’ve slipped into an alternate universe where idiots are allowed to run companies. And then I awake at my desk to realise that no, in fact, this is not the case at all and I am JUST AT WORK.

 Here is some of the madness I endure on a daily basis…

  • I am the Online Editor, but I wasn’t responsible for writing or commenting on the new Online Editorial Policy. No, that was written by the guy who writes the company newsletter. Of course.
  • Our policy for being more environmentally-friendly is called: “We’re better greener.” But in the ‘Language Guidelines’ document – the word ‘green’ or phrase ‘environmentally-friendly’ isn’t something we should use when talking about our environmentally friendly policy. Yes, really.
  • We have four meetings a week. One on Monday called an editorial channel content meeting. One on Tuesday called an editorial content meeting. One on Wednesday called a content meeting. One on Thursday called an editorial meeting. No one has any idea what the meetings are about or in what way they are remotely different from each other. We don’t have meetings on Fridays because no one is ever in work. Ever. 
  • We give cards and presents to celebrate any occasion here – since being here, in just eight weeks, I have contributed to four leaving presents, two birthday presents, 14 birthday cards, one new baby card, one recently married card, a sorry for your loss card and flowers, a sorry we forgot your birthday gift and card; and gone to new baby drinks, recently hitched drinks, and three leaving drinks – two of which were held two weeks after the relevant people had left. This is a team of 15 people. 
  • I work in internal communications – which is basically a big team designed to think about and plan how we ‘communicate company news’ to the rest of the staff. However, I spend most of my time having the content of my articles removed because ‘we don’t want to tell anyone that’. It’s like working in a shoe shop and not being allowed to sell any of the shoes.
2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 18, 2010 5:17 pm

    I got a laugh out of all of those meeting names. My job is kind of similar, I deal with a lot of things that don’t make sense too. Sometimes I want to bang my head on my desk haha.

  2. May 23, 2010 8:43 am

    This made me laugh so much… and I’m so glad you put a photo from The Office on here… so perfect 🙂

    x

Leave a Reply

