Skip to content

IN which the milky bars are most defnitely on me…

June 1, 2010

So YB and I have been ‘catching some rays’ recently and are both pretty pleased with our tans…mine’s a bit fake too, but I am enjoying the lovely golden glow, which is well-timed for our long weekend in Madrid. We’re heading off to on Thursday. Bring on the poolside sloth action. Oh yeah.

Anyway, YB seems to think that this tanning malarky is a competition and has spent much of this bank holiday putting his arm next to mine and saying: “My aren’t I brown….?” Leaving the sentence neatly hanging to point out that I am not brown and merely a pasty pretender to the tanning throne. In fact this morning (once he’d spent a good 20 minutes moisturising himself and gazing at his  brown limbs in the full length mirror) he announced: “I am really quite brown. Bad luck Caspar.” He is referring to Caspar the friendly ghost, Caspar  the white friendly ghost. He was of course referring to me.

This is nothing new, he’s called me this before. But then he sets off singing: “The milky bar kid is strong and tough, etc etc.” This cuts me deep. I used to love Milky Bars when I was little, and I loved the song. I even used the Milky Bar Kid in Twenty Questions when we were on our way to a wedding last year. He knows how much I love the Milky Bar Kid.

And it gets worse. Not content to label me a pasty Milky Bar Kid, this morning he had a variation on the song to sing.

“The milky bar kid is strong and tough / she doesn’t like it when I guff.” Yes people you heard it correctly, I am living with a child. A child who still thinks farting is funny and likes singing songs about it.

Is there an eject button for this DomesticBliss malarky….?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 1, 2010 1:49 pm

    Well…I have now discovered the joys of peeling – I shant be brown for long…!

  2. June 8, 2010 4:48 pm

    I think it’s only a matter of time before he starts using the old San Tropez 😉

    Everything in our house is a competition… I win the tanning competition (even though this year I can’t tan at all because of the drugs I’m on!) he wins anything involving being sneaky and strong like who can tickle the other one the most. So long as when others are involved you and YB become one team against the others that’s all that counts 🙂

    x

Leave a Reply

