Skip to content

In which I take up running…

June 15, 2010

This weekend kicked off with me doing some exercise. This alone is STOP PRESS information. But YB is thinking about doing the London marathon and I want to get thinner fitter so we’ve started running together.

I have never run with anyone before. Ididn’t see the point, I mean i’m out of breath after 15 seconds so it’s not like we could have a meaningful conversation. And what if you’re at different levels? Or want to listen to Eric Prydz ‘Call on me’ loudly on your headphones? Or what if they see how red you go when you run? And what if you smell? All these clearly serious concerns stopped me running with someone.

And what a fool I was.

Running with someone else is ace. I mean, yeah, YB potters along, loping slowly next to my little feet which are going at a rate of knots; and yes he was able to regale a 15 minute long story about work while I gasped for air. Yes, I had to stop and bend double wincing after 20 minutes while he carried on up an epic hill. And yes his catchphrase is “come on, keep going’; but all that aside, running with someone else is actually fun. And it’s motivating; I can’t get out of it. And I have to answer to someone.

Yay for my new running buddy; it’s like having a free personal trainer…

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 15, 2010 5:50 pm

    awesome. manfriend and i run together constantly. just ran a half marathon a couple weeks ago together and are training for chicago in the fall together. you can read more about all of that insanity on my running blog, if you give a flying crap– http://www.runningwithoutheels.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

