Skip to content

In which we spend the whole bank holiday together…

September 2, 2010

A potto: I want one. Now, please. HOW cute?

…and I take YB to the zoo!

We were supposed to be going to Norfolk this weekend to see a friend but then plans changed so we were suddenley blessed with four whole days off and no plans. I love it when that happens. And boy did we live it up large in London town. We got free tickets to Frances Alys exhibition at the Tate Modern from my sister who works there, I SO know the right people. Then we had spicy chicken pasta at a restaurant on the Southbank looking out at the Thames. Bliss.

Then the next day we woke up late, headed to the cinema – and then to Le Relais de Venise – an amazing French institution of a restaurant which serves nothing but steak and frites and great wine. We queued for an hour, and I had a temper tantrum as is my wont when queuing and YB dealt with it admirably by mainly ignoring me and chatting to the couple of front of me. I soon got out of my huff when I realised it was going to have NO impact whatsoever.

The NEXT day we enjoyed a major duvet day, and several movies, before heading out to get a curry at our local takeway – Curry Paradise (it really is).

And, finally, the day after THAT we woke up late and I suddenely sat up in bed all inspired a la Einstein and said: “Let’s go to the zoo.” We spent a blissful five hours wandering around the zoo seeing giraffes and snakes and tropical fish (see left) and tigers and monkeys and butterflies and gorillas and tarantulas and giant cockraoches and kimodo dragons and pottos (see above). YB was like a pig in mud, (we saw those too), proper happy. And then we went home and I cooked an Italiano feast of Aracnini, mozzarella, tomato, avocado, parma ham, olives, foccacia, arrabbiatta and marinated artichoke. Good times.

And you know what the best thing about the whole weekend was? We didn’t get sick of each other. Not even once. In fact, I didn’t even realise we hadn’t spoken to anyone else but ourselves for four whole days.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

